Skip to main content

What is College Preparatory Academy (CPA)?

- CPA is an elective class (yearlong and wheel) modeled after AVID.

- CPA supports students in their academic core classes.

- CPA helps to prepare students for the rigor of middle school and high school.

 

Yearlong CPA looks for students with the following qualities:

1) Average test scores

2) 2.0 to 3.0 GPA 

3) Highly motivated to succeed in school

4) Positive attitude 

5) College potential

* Yearlong is not offered 2018-19

 

CPA curriculum includes:

- Organizational Strategies

- Weekly Binder Checks

- Weekly Grade Checks in Powerschool

- onTRAC School Planner System

- Goal Setting / GPA Monitoring

- Tutorial Study Groups (Math)

- Cornell Notes / STAR Strategy

- Khan Academy / BrainPop / IXL (Math)

- Collaborative Team Building Activities

- Novel, “We Beat the Street” (yearlong)

- Philosophical Chair Debates

- Argumentative Writing

- College Field Trip (yearlong)

- High School, College and Career Readiness

Course Guidelines

GRADING POLICY

Grades are based on the total number of points in the following areas: class assignments, binder checks, tutorials, quick writes, learning logs, and tests. The grading scale is as follows:

A = 90 - 100% of the total points possible
B = 80 - 89 % 
C = 70 - 79 %
D = 60 - 69%
F = 59% and below

Citizenship grades will be determined by the following: 

Outstanding (O) = 0 - 1 tardies, and no discipline record entries

Satisfactory (S) = 2 - 3 tardies, or one discipline record entry

Needs Improvement (N) = 4 - 5 tardies, or two discipline record entries

Unsatisfactory (U) = 6 or more tardies, or three discipline record entries


BEHAVIORAL EXPECTATIONS
Class Rules:

  • Be Respectful.
  • Be prepared to work when the bell rings.
  • Raise your hand for questions.
  • Remain seated.
  • Keep the classroom tidy.

Consequences: 

  • Loss of Table Points
  • Penalty Time
  • Conference with Teacher
  • Detention & Call Parent
  • Office Referral &  Call Parent

Tardy Policy: Students who have not entered the classroom before the bell rings will be marked tardy. Every two tardies to my class will result in detention and a drop in citizenship.

2 tardies = detention / citizenship lowered to satisfactory "S"

4 tardies = detention / citizenship lowered to needs improvement "N"

6 tardies = detention / citizenship lowered to unsatisfactory "U"

MATERIALS
Students are expected to have the following materials ready for class everyday:

  • 3-ring binder
  • 2 or more pens
  • 2 or more pencils
  • eraser
  • zipper pouch
  • highlighters
  • school planner
  • subject dividers
  • dictionary (optional)
  • calculator (optional)
  • 6" ruler (optional)
E-mail Mr. Shiroma
Ryan Shiroma Teacher
Files for Download

College Preparatory Academy (CPA)

CPA Sign.jpeg

Weekly Agenda

Week 12

Monday, 11/12/18

  • Veterans Day Holiday

Tuesday, 11/13/18

  • Grade & GPA Check
  • High School College Career Poster 

Wednesday, 11/14/18

  • High School College Career Poster 
  • Homework Time

Friday, 11/9/18

  • Movie / Reflection
  • Last Day of Trimester 1

Week 11

Monday, 11/5/18

  • Grade & GPA Check
  • GoMath / Math apps
  • Friday: Binder Check

Tuesday, 11/6/18

  • Lesson 10 - Exploring Careers

Wednesday, 11/7/18

  • Lesson 10 - Exploring Careers
  • Homework Time

Friday, 11/9/18

  • Binder Check #10
  • Movie / Reflection

Week 10

Monday, 10/29/18

  • Grade & GPA Check
  • GoMath / Math apps
  • Friday: Binder Check

Tuesday, 10/30/18

  • Lesson 9 - Career Planning
  • HW: Complete Tutorial Worksheet

Wednesday, 10/31/18

  • Homework Time
  • Tutorial

Friday, 11/2/18

  • Binder Check #9
  • Movie / Reflection

Week 9

Monday, 10/22/18

  • Grade & GPA Check
  • GoMath / Math apps
  • Friday: Binder Check

Tuesday, 10/23/18

  • Lesson 8 - Postsecondary Education
  • HW: Complete Tutorial Worksheet

Wednesday, 10/24/18

  • Homework Time
  • Tutorial

Friday, 10/26/18

  • Binder Check #8
  • Learning Log
  • Movie / Reflection

Week 8

Monday, 10/15/18

  • Grade & GPA Check
  • GoMath / Math apps
  • Friday: Binder Check

Tuesday, 10/16/18

  • Lesson 7 - Paying for College
  • HW: Complete Tutorial Worksheet

Wednesday, 10/17/18

  • Homework Time
  • Tutorial

Friday, 10/19/18

  • Binder Check #7
  • Learning Log
  • Movie / Reflection

Week 7

Monday, 10/8/18

  • Grade & GPA Check
  • GoMath / Math apps
  • Friday: Binder Check

Tuesday, 10/9/18

  • Lesson 6 - College Planning Portfolio
  • HW: Complete Tutorial Worksheet

Wednesday, 10/10/18

  • Homework Time
  • Tutorial

Friday, 10/12/18

  • Binder Check #6
  • Learning Log
  • Movie / Reflection

Week 6

Monday, 10/1/18

  • Grade & GPA Check
  • GoMath / Math apps
  • Friday: Binder Check

Tuesday, 10/2/18

  • Lesson 5 - First Step Toward College
  • HW: Complete Tutorial Worksheet

Wednesday, 10/3/18

  • Finish Lesson 5 notes
  • Homework Time
  • Tutorial

Friday, 10/5/18

  • Binder Check #5
  • Learning Log
  • Movie / Reflection

Week 5

Monday, 9/24/18

  • Grade & GPA Check
  • GoMath / Math Apps
  • Friday: Binder Check

Tuesday, 9/25/18

  • Lesson 4 - Transition from Middle School to High School
  • HW: Complete Tutorial Worksheet

Wednesday, 9/26/18

  • Quick Write #4
  • Homework Time
  • Tutorial Demonstration

Friday, 9/28/18

  • Binder Check #4
  • Learning Log
  • Movie / Reflection

Week 4

Monday, 9/17/18

  • Grade & GPA Check
  • Quick Write #3
  • Introduction to Tutorials
  • Friday: Binder Check

Tuesday, 9/18/18

  • Lesson 3 - Charter, Out of District, and Private Schools

Wednesday, 9/19/18

  • Introduction to Tutorials
  • Homework Time

Friday, 9/21/18

  • Binder Check #3
  • Learning Log
  • Movie / Reflection

Week 3

Monday, 9/10/18

  • Quick Write #2
  • STAR Strategy (Cornell Notes)
  • Friday: Binder Check

Tuesday, 9/11/18

  • Lesson 2 - Local High Schools

Wednesday, 9/12/18

  • STAR Strategy (Cornell Notes)
  • Homework Time
  • Team Building Activity

Friday, 9/14/18

  • Binder Check #2
  • Learning Log
  • Movie / Reflection

Week 2

Monday, 9/3/18

  • No School

Tuesday, 9/4/18

  • The President’s Message to Students
  • Goal Setting Outline
  • Friday: Binder Check

Wednesday, 9/5/18

  • Finish goal setting outline
  • Lesson 1 - High School Choices

Friday, 9/7/18

  • Binder Check #1
  • Movie / Reflection

Week 1

Monday, 8/27/18

  • No School

Tuesday, 8/28/18

  • Welcome Back!
  • Class Procedures
  • Class Rules & Tardy Policy
  • CPA Webpage

Wednesday, 8/29/18

  • Review Class Procedures
  • Planner and Binder Checklist
  • Course Content and Weekly Format
  • Name Tent

Thursday, 8/30/18

  • Review Planner and Binder Checklist
  • onTRAC Planning System
  • Name Tent 
  • Quick Write #1

Friday, 8/31/18

  • Binder Check #1
  • Movie / Reflection